UNESCO stands for United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, a specialized agency formed on 16th November 1945 with headquarters in Paris. It has 195 member states, and 9 associate members.

UNESCO’s urgent imperative is to buttress global peace by fostering intercultural dialogues, eradicating poverty, cultivating sustainable development through education, the sciences, culture and information. Other priorities include addressing emerging social and ethical challenges, building inclusive knowledge societies through information and communication, lifelong learning and attaining quality education for all.

Projects sponsored by UNESCO include literacy, technical, and teacher-training programs, international science programs, the promotion of independent media and freedom of the press, regional and cultural history projects, the promotion of cultural diversity, translations of world literature, international cooperation agreements to secure the world cultural and natural heritage (World Heritage Sites), to preserve human rights, and attempts to bridge the worldwide digital divide.

UNESCO is also a member of the United Nations Development Group. It is often known as the “intellectual” agency of the United Nations, because its primary task is to awaken men’s creative intelligence that to achieve peace and sustainable development, people must rely on the power of intelligence to innovate, expand their horizons and sustain the hope of new humanism.

Read more on: www.unesco.org

聯合國教科文組織代表聯合國教育、科學及文化組織。1945年11月16日由聯合國創立,總部設在巴黎,共有195名會員及9位相關會員。

聯合國教科文促進不同文化間的對話,消除貧困以及用可持續發展的教育、科學、文化及資訊去支援全球和平。優先工作包括應付新的社會和族群挑戰,利用資訊和通訊去建立包容性的知識社會,終身學習及實現全民高質素教育。

由聯合國教科文所贊助的專案包括文化,技術及師資培訓計劃,國際性的科學計劃,促進媒體獨立和新聞自由,區域和文化歷史的項目,宣導多元文化、世界文學的翻譯,透過國際合作協議,保護世界文化遺產和自然遺產,保護人權,並推動修補全球數碼鴻溝。

聯合國教科文也是聯合國發展組中的一員,也經常被尊為聯合國中的「知識份子」,因為她的主要工作就是去喚醒人類心中創新的智慧,另闢途徑,一路導向和平,人們必需依靠智慧的力量去創新,擴大自己的視野和維持新人文主義的希望。

更多:http://zh.unesco.org